Confessions of a Thrift Store Junkie

You might as well face it you're addicted to Junk

August 31, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — crandol @ 12:28 pm

Today’s economy is not that forgiving; jobs are scarce and money is tight.  We are all learning how we need to stretch our dollars and get the most “bang” for our buck.  Well I am here to tell you that this is not a bad thing!  We should all be excited at the prospect of seeing how much your dollar is really worth!  I for one am quite thrilled when the loose change that I usually ignore at the bottom of my purse becomes all I need to purchase an item that I would customarily whip out my credit card for.  Maybe you are not used to this kind of spending? Well fear not! For this is the purpose of this blog!  I am here to show you how one can shop without the aftermath of guilt.

My primary locations for shopping are thrift stores, Goodwill, garage sales, yard sales, garage sale stores, the occasional estate sale and, my personal favorite, an estate sale shop, which so happens to be right across the street from me!  For some people there are a couple areas of hesitancy when it comes to buying second hand.  Cleanliness, quality, and the ever-present doubt of whether or not you will actually be able to find what you are looking for.  These are very understandable reasons, but can be quickly eradicated from your mind by some simple explanations of each.

1.  Cleanliness – Wash it!

Really there is hardly anything that soap and water, and maybe a little bleach, won’t cure.  And if you don’t think that is enough, then just don’t buy it. You can be picky, just because it is cheap doesn’t mean you have to buy something you don’t really want.  There also maybe some rules you may have for yourself, like I never buy hats (possibility of lice) or (is there any question?!?) no second hand panties!  They really aren’t that expensive at Wal-Mart anyway. Save yourself the mental debate whether or not they really are clean.  I guess you could boil them in, but I would still have doubts.

2.  Quality – don’t buy it.

If it seems to be of shoddy quality then don’t buy it.  And if you do buy it and later seems to be not exactly up to par with what it had been in it’s earlier years then you can rest easy in the fact that you probably only spent about 3 dollars on it.

3… I rely on the two P’s, Persistency and Patience.  You will not be able to find exactly want you want the first time you go to a thrift store.  If you want to find something specific you have to be patient and not stress about not finding it immediately, and be willing to continue coming back or checking other thrift stores to see if they have the item or special thing that you desire.  This is the most important persistence part of my “p.p.” rule.

These are what I believe the 3 biggest things that most people have a problem with when it comes to second hand shopping.  Recently I have really gotten into going to yard and garage sales.  There is the bargaining aspect that you don’t get when at thrift stores.  And you feel as though you are on a treasure hunt.  Following the signs, never knowing what gold awaits you at the end of the street.  Sometimes I catch my self singing my own version of Pocahontas’ song “Just around the river bend” in my head.  Well actually it’s pretty much the same except I put road instead of river.  It doesn’t quite flow but you get the picture.  There is such excitement in the air when you wake up early Saturday morning with the purpose of following the signs!  Absolutely fantastic.

The rest of my blogs will be mostly about different thrift stores I have gone to and my personal review of them.  Also I will tell of my Pirating tales and all the treasure I have found on my trips to Garage sales.  This is all very exciting and I hope you end up enjoying it all as much as I do

 

One Response to “”

  1. Mr WordPress Says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.


Leave a Reply

